Send this article to Promobot

Whalers land 8 on All-Aurora Conference roster

October 27th, 2017 | Tommy Wells Print this article   Email this article  


The Arctic Sounder

The Barrow Whalers turned more than a few heads this season as they made their way to the Division III state championship. The efforts certainly paid big dividends last week as the Whalers raked in a total of nine postseason honors.

Fresh off winning the first state football title in the school's history, the Whalers had eight players, and head coach Chris Battle, garner 2017 All-Aurora Conference honors.

Battle, who guided the Whalers to a 20-14 victory over Homer in the small-school state championship game, was selected the Aurora Conference's Coach of the Year recipient. In his first season at the helm of the Whaler program, he led the team to a record seven wins in a season and, more importantly, to the conference championship.

Barrow had three players named to the first-team all-conference roster, including running back Ben Heather. A senior, Heather rushed for more than 130 yards and two touchdowns in the Whalers' championship game.

Tight end Sione Tuifua and offensive tackle Lau Takafua were also named to the first-team roster.

Running back Tai Chan joined Brian Filipo and guard Oneahi Talaiasi on the second-team offensive unit, while guard Sebastian Sias was placed on the honorable mention squad.

Defensively, Filipo and Sias were both named to the conference's first-team squad, as was Tuifua — as a linebacker —and senior Travis Adams, who was selected the conference's 2017 first-team Utility player.

Chan, Talaiasi and Takafua were all named to the second-team defense.


Lineman of the Year—Scott Fry, Eielson.

Offensive Player of the Year—Jeremiah Brown, Eielson.

Coach of the Year—Chris Battle, Barrow.

Assistant Coach of the Year—Don Fry, Eielson.

Defensive Player of the Year—Reed Graham, Houston.


First Team

Quarterback—Trae Puryear, Monroe Catholic

Halfback—Noah Plumb, Houston; Jeremiah Brown, Eielson

Fullback—Ben Heather, Barrow

Wide Receiver—Jordan Higbee, Monroe Catholic

Tight End—Sione Tuifua, Barrow

Tackle—Lau Takafua, Barrow; Kevin Baird, Eielson

Guard—Reed Graham, Houston; Ryan Armour, Eielson

Center—Scott Fry, Eielson

Second Team

Halfback—Tai Chan, Barrow

Halfback—Jayden Manibusan, Eielson; Will Croghan, Houston

Wide Receiver—Christian Bolton, Eielson

Tight End—Brock Renson, Eielson

Tackle—Warren Baird, Houston; Brian Filipo, Barrow

Guard—Oneahi Talaiasi, Barrow; Michael Johnson, Monroe Catholic

Center—Albert Seibel, Monroe Catholic

Honorable Mention

Wide Receiver—Isaac Minima, Monroe Catholic

Tackle—Alex Van Wyhe, Monroe Catholic

Guard—Wake Kremer, Houston; Sebastian Sias, Barrow


First Team

Defensive Backs—Jeremiah Brown, Eielson; Christian Bolton, Eielson; Isaac Minima, Monroe Catholic

Interior Lineman—Dylan Jackson, Houston; Brian Filipo, Barrow; Sebastian Sias, Barrow; Scott Fry, Eielson

Inside Linebackers—Josh Grey, Monroe Catholic; Reed Graham, Houston.

Outside Linebackers—Noah Plum, Houston; Sione Tuifua, Barrow

Utility Player—Travis Adams

Punter—Kyle Sodergren, Valdez.

Return Specialist—Isaac Minima, Monroe Catholic

Long Snapper—Derek Berg, Valdez.

Kicker—Zach Paul, Eielson

Second Team

Defensive Backs—Tai Chan, Barrow

Interior Lineman—Oneahi Talaiasi, Barrow; Albert Seibel, Monroe Catholic; Stan Morales, Valdez; Lau Takafua, Barrow

Inside Linebackers—Jayden Manibusan, Eielson; Moe Morgan, Valdez

Outside Linebackers—Ryan Armour, Eielson; Kevin Baird, Eielson

Utility Player—Kyle Sodergren, Valdez


Copyright 2018 The Arctic Sounder is a publication of Alaska Media, LLC. This article is © 2018 and limited reproduction rights for personal use are granted for this printing only. This article, in any form, may not be further reproduced without written permission of the publisher and owner, including duplication for not-for-profit purposes. Portions of this article may belong to other agencies; those sections are reproduced here with permission and Alaska Media, LLC makes no provisions for further distribution.