Send this article to Promobot

Gallahorn takes sprint race win

April 26th, 2013 | Staff Print this article   Email this article  

Five sprint mushers made a run at the 2013 Arctic Circle Championship title last weekend, facing off for three days of sprints on the sea ice off Kotzebue. Winner Buddo Gallahorn came in with a total race time of three hours, 56 minutes and 20 seconds. The race is hosted by the Kotzebue Dog Mushing Association.

A mere 14 seconds separated the second and third place finishers, Paul Hansen and Luke Sampson.

"That first day we took off, and I thought I did pretty good coming out of the start there," said Kotzebue's Hansen. "And I just started to relax, and probably a good three or four miles into the race, and all the sudden Buddo hollers behind me."

Gallahorn passed Hansen, and ultimately finished the third day of racing with a combined time 20 minutes faster than Hansen's.

Total times were as follows:

Paul Hansen: 4:16:11

Luke Sampson: 4:16:25

Dan Olanna: 4:45:45

Ruth Iten: 5:10:32

"It was really nice to go out on the trail and see everybody," said red lantern winner Ruth Iten at Monday's musher banquet. "And I really want to thank my family for encouraging me to go out."

Iten's son Quinn raced in the Kobuk 440, which also took place in and out of Kotzebue over the weekend.


Copyright 2018 The Arctic Sounder is a publication of Alaska Media, LLC. This article is © 2018 and limited reproduction rights for personal use are granted for this printing only. This article, in any form, may not be further reproduced without written permission of the publisher and owner, including duplication for not-for-profit purposes. Portions of this article may belong to other agencies; those sections are reproduced here with permission and Alaska Media, LLC makes no provisions for further distribution.