Send this article to Promobot

Roetman, Huskies shine at Lancer Smith tourney

November 24th, 2012 | Tommy Wells Print this article   Email this article  

Noah Roetman wrestled his way to a top five finish on Saturday and led the Kotzebue High School Huskies' wrestling team to a solid performance at the Lancer Smith Invitational Wrestling Tournament in Palmer.

Kotzebue scored 23 points in the varsity division and placed 17th overall despite fielding a small squad in the two-day event. South Anchorage won the meet with a total of 108.5 points. Kodiak was second with 103.5, while Nome Palmer and Skyview rounded out the top five, respectively.

Roatman highlighted Kotzebue's outing by placing fourth in his weight division. The KHS standout went 4-2 in the tournament and advanced to the third-place match in the 145-pound bracket.

Roetman began his tournament outing with a dominating performance against Homer's Dalota Alward, winning 15-0. Following his win over Alward, Roetman picked up a win over Colony's Scott Samson and advanced to the quarterfinals. In the third round, he suffered a tough 4-2 loss to Wasilla's Bryce Serna, and fell into the consolation round.

Roetman bounced back from the loss in grand fashion. He dispatched West Valley's Michael Bonar in the fourth round, and then outwrestled Colony's Kamber Lucas by a 3-0 margin to earn a berth in the third-place match.

Wasilla's Nate McKimson edged Roetman in the third-place match.

Overall, Roetman was 4-2 in his six matches.

Brettlyn Reich also performed well at the event, winning twice and placing sixth in the 113-pound bracket.

Reich posted wins over Seward's Paxson Barry and Kodiak's Leonardo Cruz before an injury forced him to withdraw.

Kotzebue's Gary Eakin, Gus Nelson, Josh Roetman and Devin Phillips all notched three wins in the tournament, but failed to place. Eakin was 3-2 in the 132-pound division, while Nelson went 3-2 in the 152-pound classification. Roetman was 3-2 in the 160-pound ranks, and Phillips was 3-2 in the 170-pound bracket.

Isaiah Savok, Koy Johnson, Zach Haviland, Isaac Peacock and Edwin Haviland all recorded wins.


Copyright 2018 The Arctic Sounder is a publication of Alaska Media, LLC. This article is © 2018 and limited reproduction rights for personal use are granted for this printing only. This article, in any form, may not be further reproduced without written permission of the publisher and owner, including duplication for not-for-profit purposes. Portions of this article may belong to other agencies; those sections are reproduced here with permission and Alaska Media, LLC makes no provisions for further distribution.